Business Basics Beyond Basics dba Florida Try It Resources


August 23, 2019

dba Florida

Annual Reports

| 4/20/2018

What is an annual report?
An annual report is a required report that is used to update or confirm the Florida Department of State, Division of Corporations’ records. The annual report is not a financial statement. An annual report must be filed each year for your business entity to maintain an “active status” with the Department of State, and is required regardless of whether you need to make changes or not. The data displayed on the entity’s online annual report form is the most current data on file with the Division of Corporations.

How do I file my annual report?
Annual report filings are required to be filed online at Click “Annual Report” under “Filing Services” menu to complete your filing.

When is the annual report due?
The report and any associated fees are due between January 1 and May 1
of each year. If you are paying by check or money order, your payment voucher and check or money order must be postmarked and mailed on or before May 1.

How much does it cost to file an annual report?
If you file your report by May 1, the annual report filing fee is as follows: $150 for a profit corporation; $61.25 for a not-for-profit corporation; $138.75 for a limited liability company; and $500 for a limited partnership or limited liability limited partnership. Payment may be made by credit card, check or through an established account.

A $400 late fee will be imposed on all profit corporations, limited liability companies, limited partnerships and limited liability limited partnerships that fail to file their annual reports on or before May 1. Not for profit corporations are not subject to the $400 late fee.

Can the $400 late fee be waived or abated?
No. The $400 late fee is required by law. All business entities, except not for profit corporations and limited liability partnerships, must pay the $400 late fee if their annual report is filed after May 1, even if the business entity did not receive its annual report filing notices.

What happens if I don’t file?
If you elect not to file an annual report by the third Friday of September, your business entity will be administratively dissolved or revoked on our records at the close of business on the fourth Friday of September. While administratively dissolved or revoked entities may be reinstated, to do so would require submitting the appropriate reinstatement application and the appropriate fees due (the associated annual report filing fees plus the applicable reinstatement fee) to the Division of Corporations at the time the entity applies for reinstatement.

File Early, Florida!
Have you filed your annual report?

Annual reports for all corporations, limited liability companies, limited partnerships, limited liability limited partnerships, and limited liability partnerships are due each year between January 1 and May 1.

The Department of State encourages business owners to file early.

File by May 1 to avoid a non-negotiable late fee.

Tags: Florida Small Business, dba Florida

Florida Business News

Ballot Box

If you had the option to switch to a doctor who provides remote telehealth services via text, email or videos, what would be the main reason why?

  • Ease of access to health care provider
  • Faster service
  • Reduced costs
  • Time saver
  • Prescription renewal
  • Other

See Results