NAVIGATION

October 16, 2017

News Release

CEO of Visit Florida makes case why defunding agency will cost Florida thousands of jobs

| 4/26/2017

Ken Lawson, CEO of Visit Florida, makes a case why defunding the agency will cost Florida thousands of jobs. Below is a letter he sent to Visit Florida members:

It is now time for action! It's time for you and your employees to pick up the phone and call Legislators for a fully funded VISIT FLORIDA.

Governor Scott has been a champion for the tourism industry since day one, and it's time for us to help him in this fight.

Throughout the legislative session, you have stood with us to save VISIT FLORIDA and protect the 1.4 million jobs that the tourism industry represents. Right now, the Florida House and Senate are working to craft a budget that could cut VISIT FLORIDA's funding by up to 67 percent, severely limiting our ability to successfully bring visitors to our state. This would decrease tourism and visitor spending and would harm your business. If VISIT FLORIDA isn't fully funded, we would be forced to shutter programs that help businesses like yours.

This is unacceptable and will cost Florida thousands of jobs.

VISIT FLORIDA has already put significant transparency measures into place that will help us be better stewards of taxpayer dollars. Here is a copy of the updated contract we've signed to increase transparency and accountability at VISIT FLORIDA. Here's a copy of talking points about the importance of VISIT FLORIDA. Visit TourismWorksforFlorida.org to find out more information.

Please reach out to the House and Senate to tell them that VISIT FLORIDA needs to be fully funded at $100 million. We need you to call the Florida Legislative Leadership NOW. This is not a time to stay quiet. It's time to speak up so your business does not lose the benefit VISIT FLORIDA provides to your bottom line.

Now is the time for action. Please tell the following members of the Legislature to stand with Governor Scott to fully fund VISIT FLORIDA.

Florida Senate President Joe Negron
(850) 487-5229
negron.joe@flsenate.gov

Speaker of the House of Representatives Richard Corcoran
(850) 717-5000
richard.corcoran@myfloridahouse.gov

Senate President Pro Tempore Anitere Flores
(850) 487-5039
flores.anitere@flsenate.gov

Speaker Pro Tempore Jeanette Nunez
(850) 717-5650
jeanette.nunez@myfloridahouse.gov

Senate Majority Leader Wilton Simpson
(850) 487-5184
simpson.wilton@flsenate.gov

Majority Leader Ray Rodrigues
(850) 488-1993
Ray.Rodrigues@myfloridahouse.gov

Senate Appropriations Chairman Jack Latvala
(850) 487-5016
latvala.jack@flsenate.gov

House Appropriations Chairman Carlos Trujillo
(850) 717-5105
carlos.trujillo@myfloridahouse.gov

Senate Rules Chair Lizbeth Benacquisto
(850) 487-5027
benacquisto.lizbeth@flsenate.gov

House Rules Chairman and Incoming House Speaker Jose Oliva
(850) 717-5110
jose.oliva@myfloridahouse.gov

Past Majority Leader Bill Galvano
(850) 487-5021
galvano.bill@flsenate.gov

House Transportation & Tourism Appropriations Subcommittee Chairman Clay Ingram
(850) 717-5001
clay.ingram@myfloridahouse.gov

Senate Transportation & Tourism Appropriations Subcommittee Chairman Jeff Brandes
(850) 487-5024
brandes.jeff@flsenate.gov

Minority Leader Janet Cruz
(850) 717-5062
janet.cruz@myfloridahouse.gov

Minority Leader Oscar Braynon
(850) 487-5035
braynon.oscar@flsenate.gov

Find out what happened when other states cut funding for tourism marketing.

Read a letter from Ben Watkins, Florida's Director of the Division of Bond Finance, on how cutting VISIT FLORIDA's funding could hurt our state's credit rating.

Sincerely,

Ken Lawson
President & CEO
VISIT FLORIDA

Tags: Government/Politics & Law, Travel & Tourism

Digital Access

DIRECT DIGITAL ACCESS
Add digital to your current subscription, purchase a single digital issue, or start a new subscription to Florida Trend.

TABLE OF CONTENTS
An overview of the features and articles in this month's issue of Florida Trend.

ACCESS THIS ISSUE »

Florida Business News

Florida Trend Video Pick

Why jobs of the future won't feel like work
Why jobs of the future won't feel like work

We've all heard that robots are going to take our jobs -- but what can we do about it? Innovation expert David Lee talks about staying relevant in the age of robotics.

Earlier Videos | Viewpoints@FloridaTrend

Ballot Box

Do you agree or disagree with President Trump's move to scrap health care subsidies for the ACA?

  • Agree
  • Unsure, need to understand ramifications better
  • Disagree

See Results

Ballot Box
Subscribe